Skip to content

Spinach for breakfast

September 10, 2011

Last week when I was home I taught my mom how to sneak a huge handful of Spinach into her berry smoothies and get ALL those vitamins….without even tasting the spinach.

Let’s get it straight. I love spinach. I know your body needs it, or something like it, everyday. But some days, I am just NOT feeling a salad, or I want some damn iceberg or spring-mix!

So, in comes the spinach in the smoothie.

Spinach actaually has a texture which is stronger than it’s flavor. So when blended, the texture changes it doesnt have much flavor to contribute. Just a KAPOW of vitamins and fiber. BAM.

 

 

 

in the mix: (makes 2 medium smoothies)

1 c frozen strawberries
1/2 c frozen blueberries
1/4 c frozen raspberries
1 banana
3/4 cup plain fat free yogurt
1 massive handful of spinach (or 2 normal handfuls)

Hot tip: I blended the yogurt, banana, and spinach first so I could be sure the spinach got fully processed…i didn’t want to choke on any surprise leaves (definitely do this if your blender is unpredictable). Then i added the other fruits to turn it into a berry blast smoothie.

I’m so excited to have gotten the mama to sneak in an extra veggie! As I’ve grown up, it has been a little bit of role reversal in our house. I LOVE veggies, and i get on serious veggie kicks. my mom likes them enuff’….but is not as likely to try them in new and different ways. So now, at 23, I make my mom eat HER veggies. Mwaahahaha!

Inspiration for this smoothie from Julie over at http://www.pbfingers.com who always has the most awesome looking smoothies!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

