Skip to content

Why I Truly Am Sad That the Harry Potter Saga is Over

July 18, 2011

This weekend it surely seemed as though every Facebook, Twitter, and BBM status was lauding the brilliance of the final Harry Potter movie, and bemoaning the end of childhood as the movies came to a close, about  2 years after the books came to conclusion.

“Accio my childhood” and “Avada Kadavra Youth!” were both statuses I saw in my twitter-feed. And while I  jump on the bandwagon and cry for a moment about how Harry Potter growing up has made me realize my own adulthood, I’d like to share the very real reasons that I’m truly sorry Harry Potter has ended.

1. His childhood coincided with my own: When I first read Harry Potter, I was eleven. Harry was, in the first book, celebrating his eleventh birthday. Harry was an outsider, bullied in school but with an incredible gift. I, well I wasn’t bullied really, but I was an odd kid and definitely identified with Harry’s social struggles!

2. There have been 7 books and 8 movies. That’s 15 occasions to connect with some of the most wonderful characters in literature. 15 times we practically felt the wind on our face while Harry rode his broomstick. 15 times we questioned Snape. 15 times we dreamed of drinking a Butterbeer in Hogsmeade. We’ve have 15 occasions to connect with the story; some marriages have begun after fewer encounters.

3. The books, and the story, are not just about or for children. At 11, I loved the story. but as I grew up and learned more an more about literature, mythology, latin….the true genius and seamlessness with which Rowling made the story not only fanciful but also logical became more and more apparent. As an adult, you get just as lost in the story as when you were a kid, but there is also the factor of “damn, she’s smart.”

4. The magical world exists without technology. The Harry Potter generation, those of us who are his age, grew up at the onset of impossibly fast technological innovation. When HP-1 came out, most people I knew didn’t have cell phones. By HP-7, there were IPADS. By the HP-7 movie, IPAD-2. In the magical world, they use reason and cunning and skill to get out of a bind, they don’t google the answer. And there is something so refreshing about that.

 

So, Farewell Harry. To quote Alan Rickman “When I’m 80 years old and sitting in my rocking chair, I’ll be reading Harry Potter. And my family will say to me, “After all this time?” And I will say, “Always.””

Apparently, he didn’t actually say that. I like to believe he said that. But whatever, it doesn’t matter. The sentiment is correct.

 

Question : Why are you sad (or not sad) about Harry Potter ending? What made it special to you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

