Skip to content

Inspired, or Crazy?

January 24, 2013

 

Two friends will be in town within the next two months. I am taking suggestions on where to go in South India and what are absolute must-sees. One of my visitors (and we know how much I truly  love visitors) has been very proactive in planning and sent me potential routes and attractions that are on his list for a North-India jaunt.

Now the question is: can we do this? It’s an ambitious route for seeing the North. 

image

 

You see, I’m leaving India in two short months.  And I don’t know if I am happy, sad, scared, ready, dreading it, or all of the above. I know I’ve overstayed Mumbai, it’s time to leave before it loses its luster.

What better way than to sandwich a trip south and a trip north? At the end of it, I’ll either be so in love with India I will cancel my tickets home, or I’ll be dancing all the way to the international airport.

Wish me luck.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2013 10:39 am

    I don’t know anything about the south, nor do I know what your friend is looking for up north, but personally I really loved Landour (it’s the army cantonment area just above Mussoorie in Uttarakhand, close to Dehra Dun). Definitely preferred it to Rishikesh, which I just found sort of cheesy. Lots of foreigners desperate for hash and a two-week enlightenment crash course. Also what about Varanasi? Too far? Also also, if you’re doing this over Holi you should definitely try to be in Vrindavan – between Delhi and Agra – for the holiday (I think it’s March 27). It’s the best.

    • March 6, 2013 11:40 am

      Thanks Michael! In the end we skipped Uttrakand because I had already done Dehra Dun and Rishikesh. I know what you mean about Rishikesh…but if you have occasion to go back, i recommend staying on the other side of the bridge past Laxman Jhula. It’s pretty quiet and chilled out up there, just tent camps and mud huts mostly.

  2. January 24, 2013 4:05 pm

    You’ll have to share the itineraries you choose with each visitor. I’m likely going to copy parts for our trip next year. Have fun with your guests!

    • March 6, 2013 11:41 am

      Absolutely. I had some of the BEST luck with hotels on this trip too. Send me an email at molloy.maeve [at] gmail and i will send you some links for planning your trip.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

